The Resource After 9/11 : photographs, by Nathan Lyons ; with an introduction by Marvin Bell and an afterword by Richard Benson and Jock Reynolds

After 9/11 : photographs, by Nathan Lyons ; with an introduction by Marvin Bell and an afterword by Richard Benson and Jock Reynolds

Label
After 9/11 : photographs
Title
After 9/11
Title remainder
photographs
Statement of responsibility
by Nathan Lyons ; with an introduction by Marvin Bell and an afterword by Richard Benson and Jock Reynolds
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In response to the tragic events of September 11, photographer Nathan Lyons, known for his honest and often questioning depictions of American culture, has created a poignant new body of images. Photographing in small towns and large cities, Lyons has keenly observed the extreme and often confusing variety of responses - from deep reverence to blatant commercialization - manifested by ordinary Americans." "This provocative sequence of images, loaded with multiple messages, is powerfully coherent and strangely disturbing. One will marvel, for instance, at the myriad uses of the American flag. As noted by Richard Benson in one of the book's afterwords, Nathan Lyons here offers a "parade of flags - in print, plastic, cloth, and paint - and he shows them as ubiquitous markers of our national pride and consciousness."" "In the tradition of Robert Frank's The Americans, Nathan Lyons's photographs will both engage audiences to question their responses to this horrific event in the context of our complicated society and memorialize the tragic loss of so many innocent lives."--Jacket
Cataloging source
UKM
Dewey number
779/.9973931
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
TR647
LC item number
.L9 2003
Literary form
non fiction
After 9/11 : photographs, by Nathan Lyons ; with an introduction by Marvin Bell and an afterword by Richard Benson and Jock Reynolds
Label
After 9/11 : photographs, by Nathan Lyons ; with an introduction by Marvin Bell and an afterword by Richard Benson and Jock Reynolds
Publication
Note
"A traveling exhibition of 'After 9/11' is available from Spectrum Gallery, ... Rochester, New York"--P. [174]
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
ocm52566561
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?type=xw12&client=216-623-2800&isbn=9780300101829&upc=&oclc=%28OCoLC%2952566561/LC.JPG
Dimensions
22 x 24 cm.
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'PEN-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/pen-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:1695607/ada', 'CPL-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/cpl-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:1695607/ada'}
Extent
173 p.
Isbn
9780300101829
Lccn
2003106780
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
ill.
System control number
(OCoLC)52566561

Library Locations

    • PENINSULA/Main LibraryBorrow it
      6105 Riverview Road, Peninsula, 44264
      41.2396722 -81.554003
Processing Feedback ...