The Resource The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia, C.W. Gortner

The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia, C.W. Gortner

Label
The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Title
The Vatican princess
Title remainder
a novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Statement of responsibility
C.W. Gortner
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C.W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world's most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the dynasty's ambitions. Slandered as a heartless seductress who lured men to their doom, was she in fact the villainess of legend, or was she trapped in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and survival? With the ascension of the Spaniard Rodrigo Borgia as Pope Alexander VI, a new era has dawned in Rome. Benefitting from their father's elevation are the new pope's illegitimate children--his rival sons, Cesare and Juan, and beautiful young daughter Lucrezia--each of whom assumes an exalted position in the papal court. Privileged and adored, Lucrezia yearns to escape her childhood and play a part in her family's fortunes. But Rome is seductive and dangerous: Alliances shift at a moment's notice as Italy's ruling dynasties strive to keep rivals at bay. As Lucrezia's father faces challenges from all sides, the threat of a French invasion forces him to marry her off to a powerful adversary. But when she discovers the brutal truth behind her alliance, Lucrezia is plunged into a perilous gambit that will require all her wits, cunning, and guile. Escaping her marriage offers the chance of happiness with a passionate prince of Naples, yet as scandalous accusations of murder and incest build against her, menacing those she loves, Lucrezia must risk everything to overcome the lethal fate imposed upon her by her Borgia blood. Beautifully wrought, rich with fascinating historical detail, The Vatican Princess is the first novel to describe Lucrezia's coming-of-age in her own voice. What results is a dramatic, vivid tale set in an era of savagery and unparalleled splendor, where enemies and allies can be one and the same, and where loyalty to family can ultimately be a curse. Advance praise for The Vatican Princess "Elegantly written and deeply researched, with a pacy style and a fine eye for contemporary detail. The world of Renaissance Italy is vividly brought to life--I'm captivated by this knowledgeable author's take on the controversial Borgias."--Alison Weir, New York Times bestselling author of Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen "A spiderweb of Renaissance intrigue with a cast of legendary characters, The Vatican Princess tells Lucrezia Borgia's story in her own words. Impressive research, a lush background, and deft characterization of these turbulent times make for a fascinating read."--Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth I "C. W. Gortner's The Vatican Princess is a tale of passion, political intrigue, and poisonous power. Assiduously researched and expertly crafted, this novel takes readers inside the treacherous world of the Borgias--one of history's most dysfunctional ruling families--and brings to life the sympathetic and freshly imagined character of their leading lady, Lucrezia. This unholy plunge into Rome's darkest dynasty is wholly engrossing."--Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author of Sisi"--
  • "Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias became Italy's most ruthless and powerful family, electrifying and terrorizing their 15th-century Renaissance world. To this day, Lucrezia Borgia is known as one of history's most notorious villainesses, accused of incest and luring men to doom with her arsenal of poison. International bestselling author C.W. Gortner's new novel delves beyond the myth to depict Lucrezia in her own voice, from her pampered childhood in the palaces of Rome to her ill-fated, scandalous arranged marriages and complex relationship with her adored father and her rival brothers--brutal Juan and enigmatic Cesare. This is the dramatic, untold story of a papal princess who came of age in an era of savage intrigue and unparalleled splendor, and whose courage led her to overcome the fate imposed on her by her Borgia blood"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.6
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3607.O78
LC item number
V38 2016
Literary form
fiction
The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia, C.W. Gortner
Label
The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia, C.W. Gortner
Link
9780345533975.jpg
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn909925218
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?type=xw12&client=216-623-2800&isbn=9780345533975&upc=&oclc=%28OCoLC%29909925218/LC.JPG
Dimensions
25 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'LOR-COL': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/lor-col/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'HRN-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/hrn-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'HBBD-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/hbbd-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'LOR-DOM': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/lor-dom/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'GC-NE': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/gc-ne/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'CH-UNHTS': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/ch-unhts/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'WE-E': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/we-e/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'NRLK-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/nrlk-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'CPL-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/cpl-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'LOR-AVON': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/lor-avon/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'TW-MAIN': 'https://cplo.ent.sirsi.net/client/en_US/clevnet/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'PER-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/per-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'GC-BA': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/gc-ba/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'RR-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/rr-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'EU-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/eu-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'SH-WOODS': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/sh-woods/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'GC-CH': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/gc-ch/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'LOR-NOR': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/lor-nor/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'CH-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/ch-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'LOR-SOU': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/lor-sou/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'GC-GW': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/gc-gw/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'SH-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/sh-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada', 'SA-MAIN': 'https://search.clevnet.org/client/en_US/sa-main/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:6959749/ada'}
Edition
First edition.
Extent
382 pages
Isbn
9780345533975
Lccn
2015037198
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
map
System control number
(OCoLC)909925218

Library Locations

    • CLV HTS/Lee Road LibraryBorrow it
      2345 Lee Road, Cleveland Heights, OH, 44118, US
      41.4957521 -81.5646479
    • CLV HTS/University Hts. BranchBorrow it
      13866 Cedar Road, University Heights, 44118, US
      41.5010839 -81.5409389
    • EUCLID/Main LibraryBorrow it
      631 East 222nd Street, Euclid, OH, 44123, US
      41.59796499999999 -81.52578729999999
    • GEAUGA/BainbridgeBorrow it
      17222 Snyder Road, Chagrin Falls, OH, 44023, US
      41.40082 -81.3084745
    • GEAUGA/ChardonBorrow it
      110 East Park Street, Chardon, OH, 44024, US
      41.5817498 -81.2023672
    • GEAUGA/Geauga WestBorrow it
      13455 Chillicothe Road, Chesterland, OH, 44026, US
      41.5016392 -81.3383164
    • GEAUGA/NewburyBorrow it
      14775 Auburn Road, Newbury, OH, 44065, US
      41.4663316 -81.2435206
    • HUBBARD/Hubbard Main LibraryBorrow it
      436 W. Liberty St., Hubbard, OH, 44425, US
      41.1567155 -80.5773967
    • HURON/Main LibraryBorrow it
      333 Williams St., Huron, OH, 44839, US
      41.3937334 -82.55731399999999
    • LORAIN/Avon BranchBorrow it
      37485 Harvest Dr., Avon, OH, 44011, US
      41.45460070000001 -82.0370671
    • LORAIN/Columbia BranchBorrow it
      13824 W. River Road North, Columbia Station, OH, 44028, US
      41.3142207 -81.9254559
    • LORAIN/Domonkas BranchBorrow it
      4125 E. Lake Rd., Sheffield Lake, OH, 44054, US
      41.4901504 -82.1122563
    • LORAIN/North Ridgeville BranchBorrow it
      35700 Bainbridge Rd. , North Ridgeville, OH, 44039, US
      41.385633 -82.0159874
    • LORAIN/South BranchBorrow it
      2121 Homewood Dr., Lorain, OH, 44055, US
      41.4365656 -82.12306629999999
    • NORWALK/Main LibraryBorrow it
      46 West Main St., Norwalk, 44857
      41.2418645 -82.6175861
    • PERRY/Main LibraryBorrow it
      3753 Main Street, Perry, 44081
      41.7648623 -81.1517679
    • ROCKY RIVER/Rocky RiverBorrow it
      1600 Hampton Road, Rocky River, OH, 44116, US
      41.4767502 -81.841522
    • SANDUSKY/Main LibraryBorrow it
      114 W. Adams St., Sandusky, 44870
      41.453167 -82.71071409999999
    • SHAKER/Main LibraryBorrow it
      16500 Van Aken Boulevard, Shaker Heights, 44120
      41.4658894 -81.56647579999999
    • SHAKER/Bertram Woods BranchBorrow it
      20600 Fayette Road, Shaker Heights, 44122
      41.4764239 -81.5351814
    • TWINSBURG/Main LibraryBorrow it
      10050 Ravenna Rd, Twinsburg, 44087
      41.3173847 -81.4488209
    • WILLOUGHBY-EASTLAKE /EastlakeBorrow it
      36706 Lake Shore Blvd., Eastlake, 44095
      41.6830415 -81.4215919
Processing Feedback ...